Popular Resources

Elizabeth P. Hoisington '40 Distinguished Alumna Award

The Elizabeth P. Hoisington ’40 Distinguished Alumna Award is presented to a graduate who, through achievements in career and or community service, embodies the principles of Notre Dame.

Winners, who have graduated no fewer than five years ago, have demonstrated loyalty to the University and achievements in career and or community. After her death in 2007, the award was dedicated to Brig. Gen. Elizabeth P. Hoisington ’40, who served our nation with leadership and vision—particularly as one of the first women to attain the rank of U.S. Army general. The 2008 award was the first given under the new name.

2014 Award Winner - Mary Kay Shartle Galotto '64, Ph.D.

mary kay and dr yamIn April 2009, Mary Kay was named to the Maryland Daily Record’s Top 100 Women. It was an honor that was long due to this accomplished Notre Dame woman, who has had a remarkable four-decade-long career as a teacher, counselor, professor, and college administrator. Mary Kay’s career formally ended in 2009, with her retirement as executive vice-president for academic and student services at Montgomery College, a highly regarded public institution.

As executive vice president, Mary Kay supervised all academic and student affairs programs at each of the College’s three campuses and provided executive leadership for noncredit programs. She made significant accomplishments on behalf of the college—developing the master plan, securing a one-million-dollar matching grant from the Gates Foundation, and procuring over $100,000 in donations to launch an institute for civic engagement.

A retiree in name only, Mary Kay now directs the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Johns Hopkins University and continues her philanthropic work in retirement, serving on the board of the Strathmore Arts Center, the Arts and Humanities Council for Montgomery County, and the Rockville Chamber of Commerce, to name a few. Her nominator called her a “committed and tireless advocate for community colleges, the arts, the humanities, science and technology, women’s issues, literacy, and human rights.

Click here to see Mary Kay's remarks.


1991:  Patricia Ann Denny Bathon ’49 2003:  Mary Lu Schroeder McNeal ’50
1992:  Veronica Walker Hackett ’67 2004:  Regina McKeowne Hubbard ’43
1993:  Mildred Buzek Otenasek ’36, Ph.D.   2005:  Candee Morici Swenson ’69, Ph.D.
1994:  Margaret Dempsey McManus ’41 2006:  Dr. Doris Ann Trauner ’66, M.D.
1995:  School Sisters of Notre Dame 2007:  Kathleen Carney Buetow ’50, Ph.D.
1996:  Margaret Dougherty ’41 2008:  Dolores Warwick Frese ’58 , Ph.D.
1997:  Dorothy Brown, Ph.D. ’54 2009:  Jo Trueschler '49
1998:  Donna Ringger Easton ’70 2010:  Edith McParland Donohue '60
1999:  Suzanne Janes Peck ’64 2011:  Patricia Knott Smyth '51
2000:  Alice El Koury ’39 2012:  Kathleen O'Ferrall Friedman '62
2001:  Margaret J. Steinhagen’54, Ph.D. 2013: Margaret Haskell Farnham '92
2002:  Anne Bruggy Deming ’61, Ph.D. 2014: Mary Kay Shartle Galotto '64, Ph.D.
  2015: Frances Hanna Flanigan '65
          The Hon. Irene Murphy Keeley '65