Popular Resources

Service to Society Award

In 1999, the Alumnae and Alumni Association established the Service to Society Award.

This award is presented to a graduate who best exemplifies the ideals of a Notre Dame education through the application of their education, initiative and humanity to socially useful ends in the community, nation or world. All graduates are eligible.

2016 Award Winners - Sr. Patricia McLaughlin, SSND '66

Living a personal and professional life dedicated to service, Sr. Patricia McLaughlin, SSND, brings the Notre Dame mission to life. As a student, she embraced the Notre Dame education that challenges students to be their best, strive for intellectual and professional excellence and to “engage in service to others.”
Sr. Pat received her master’s degree in the humanities from Manhattanville College in 1973 and her Bachelor of Arts in English from Notre Dame of Maryland University in 1966.

In 1996 Sr. Pat began serving as the executive director of Caroline Center, an award-winning nonprofit workforce development center for women in Baltimore City. The Center’s mission is to empower woman to reach the fullness of their potential so that they can create a future of hope for themselves and their family.
Previously, Sr. Pat served as a Provincial Councilor with the School Sisters of Notre Dame and director of My Sister’s Place, a division of Catholic Charities that offers food, education and job training to women in Baltimore City.

In 1975, Sr. Pat’s path led her back to her beloved Notre Dame, where she oversaw the student population first serving as the associate dean of students and in two years was named dean of students, where she served until 1982. Sr. Pat was honored twice as one of Maryland’s Top 100 Women. She has served on a number of boards including Notre Dame Preparatory, Institute of Notre Dame, Notre Dame of Maryland University, and the Job Opportunities Task Force.

Sr. Pat still serves as the executive director of Caroline Center where she continues to positively impact the lives of thousands of women every year in the Baltimore area.



1999:  Patricia Fosarelli ’73, M.D., Ph.D. 2008:  Mary Ellen Dougherty, SSND ’58
           Kathleen Marie Engers, SSND ’47
2000:  Diana Mand ’69 2009:  Mary Gabriel Roeder, SSND ’59
2001:  Sue Ford Patrick ’67

2010:  Christopher L. Benzing, M’05
            Virginia Bartlett Rugemer, C’91

2002:  Retta Blaney ’78 2011:  Susan Love, M.D. ’70
2003:  Diane Roberts McGlinchey ’59 2012:  Judy Geilfuss Dobson ’62
2004:  Carole Artigiani ’62 2013: Margaret O'Connor Markovic '82
2005:  Margaret M. Wintz ’45 2014: Andrea Bowden '69, Ph. D. 
          Betty Contino W'89
2006:  Susan Mueller Aumann ’83 2015: Susan Gardiner Larkin '65 Ph.D.
 2007:  Mary Ellen Vanni ’69 2016: Sr. Patricia McLaughlin, SSND '66