Maryland Student Forensic Conference

NDMU is hosting this year's Maryland Student Forensic Conference, "Preparing Tomorrow’s Leaders in Forensic Science," which is aimed towards high school and undergraduate students with a desire to learn more about careers in forensics and other opportunities in the growing field of forensic science and forensic studies.

Demonstrations

Several forensic professionals and law enforcement agencies will be on-hand to perform demonstrations and hands-on activities in the latest advances in forensic investigations, as well as to answer student questions.

  • Latent Prints
  • Bloodstain and Trace Evidence
  • Firearm Analysis
  • Polygraph
  • Forensic Entomology
  • and more!

Representatives from eight Maryland colleges and universities offering forensic degrees will also be available to answer questions regarding career choices, degree options, and research opportunities.

Keynote Speaker

John Wallace, Ph.D., co-founder of the North American Forensic Entomology Association and diplomate of the American Board of Forensic Entomology, will provide a keynote address, "Maggots, Murder and Mayhem: Using Insects and Other Arthropods in Forensic Investigations." The conference will serve as an excellent opportunity to begin networking with some of the top forensic and law enforcement professionals in the State of Maryland.

Resources

Contact List

Name Institution Department  Email
Howard Schindler Stevenson University/St. Paul’s HS Forensic Science hschindler@stevenson.edu
Darlene Brothers-Gray Coppin State University Criminal Justice dbrothers-gray@coppin.edu
Laura Ellsworth Prince George’s County Community College Public Safety and Law ellswolr@pgcc.edu
Alison Shao Stevenson University School of Sciences and Graduate and Professional Studies ashao@stevenson.edu
Raymond Harris Prince George’s County Community College Public Safety and Law harrisrl@pgcc.edu
David Rivers Loyola University Maryland Biology drivers@loyola.edu
Kelly Elkins Towson University Chemistry kmelkins@towson.edu
Gwen Gilinger CCBC Biology ggilinger@ccbcmd.edu
Rana DellaRocco BPD Forensic Unit/Towson Director, Forensic Unit Rana.DellaRocco@baltimorepolice.org
Judy Staveley Frederick CC Bioprocessing and Forensic Science jstaveley@frederick.edu
Emily Boward Frederick CC Science Laboratory Technician EBoward@frederick.edu
Thomas Coogan Stevenson University Associate Dean of Forensics tcoogan@stevenson.edu

Event Sponsors

The event is being sponsored by the Center for Forensic Excellence at Stevenson University, Loyola University Maryland, and Notre Dame of Maryland University. This event is open to high school and undergraduate students, but registration is required.