Popular Resources

College of Notre Dame Breaks Ground on School of Pharmacy Building

May 6, 2010

College of Notre Dame of Maryland will break ground on a 25,000-square foot building for its School of Pharmacy on Friday, May 7, at a 10 a.m. ceremony.

Participating in the ceremony will be Mary Pat Seurkamp, Ph.D., president of College of Notre Dame; Anne Y.F. Lin, Pharm.D., dean of the School of Pharmacy; Senator Benjamin Cardin; Congressman John P. Sarbanes; Patricia J. Mitchell, chair of the Board of Trustees; Stanton Ades and Betty Contino, co-chairs of the campaign executive committee; and Ken Miller, Ph.D., senior vice president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. Also in attendance will be Bishop Denis J. Madden, auxiliary bishop of Baltimore; former Senator Paul S. Sarbanes; Mary Catherine Bunting; Willard Hackerman, president of Whiting-Turner Contracting; and Eric Chan, project architect, Melville Thomas Architects Inc. 

“Providing programs that meet workforce shortage needs in our state and across the country—and are grounded in our liberal arts tradition— has been a longstanding priority for College of Notre Dame of Maryland,” said Dr. Seurkamp. “With the start of School of Pharmacy classes last fall, we continued in that tradition by adding pharmacy to nursing and teacher preparation. The 25,000-square-foot facility will allow us to enroll approximately 300 pharmacy students in the school, which will help address workforce shortages in this critical health care area.”

Senator Cardin, who, along with Congressman Sarbanes, supported federal funding for the School of Pharmacy, said “It is clear that our nation will face a serious shortage of pharmacists in the coming years, and I commend College of Notre Dame for its plans to establish a new, co-educational School of Pharmacy to help meet the demand for trained pharmacists.” Senator Cardin continued, “I was pleased to support this funding because the School of Pharmacy will help close a gap that could seriously affect our nation’s delivery of health care services.”

“Pharmacists are an important part of our health care system. They provide medication expertise that is integral to improving the quality of care and reducing readmission rates due to medical complications,” said Congressman Sarbanes. He added, “Pharmacists will play a key role in the success of health care reform and College of Notre Dame’s School of Pharmacy will produce a new generation of trained professionals to help meet our growing demand and address the health care challenges facing our nation.”

At the ceremony, Bishop Madden and Rev. Robert Kennedy, chaplain of College of Notre Dame, will bless the site of the new building just before the groundbreaking begins. Anacelia Olivera, president of the School of Pharmacy’s Class of 2013, will speak about being part of the inaugural class.

Construction will be completed by summer 2011. The cost of the project is approximately $13 million.

The School of Pharmacy, the first on the campus of a women’s college in the country, welcomed its first class in fall 2009. Nearly 500 applications were received for the 70 seats, with students coming from 15 states. The number of applications for the fall 2010 class nearly doubled, with more than 950 received for the 70 seats in the second class. 

The School of Pharmacy is a four-year, first professional degree program (doctor of pharmacy) consisting of 148 credit hours of study. The program’s fourth year is dedicated to a prescribed set of courses delivered in actual practice settings. 

There are four focus areas used as the basis for the School’s curriculum: leadership development; women’s health across the lifespan; public health and the care of diverse populations; and professionalism.