Popular Resources

NDMU's Lacrosse Team Honored by Peers

May 20, 2014

Notre Dame of Maryland University’s lacrosse team has been named a recipient of the Colonial States Athletic Conference’s 3-D Award, which honors the teams from each sport that best exemplified the NCAA Division-III principles of "Discover, Develop, Dedicate."

The award is based on voting done by the other teams in the conference and is based upon a 1-10 ranking of the three "D" principles.  The lacrosse team is the second team to receive the award this past season, joining the field hockey squad who won the award in the fall.

This season, the lacrosse team saw two players earn Second-Team All-Conference honors as junior Brittany Peddicord (Timonium, Md./Dulaney) and sophomore Sawyer Butto (Wyomissing, Pa./Sacred Heart University) earned recognition.  The squad finished their year with a 17-5 win over Cedar Crest College and a 16-8 victory over Bryn Athyn.

"For the third year in a row, we are extremely pleased with the reception of the 3-D award among our conference's student-athletes," said CSAC Commissioner Jennifer Dubow. "The fact that all voting is conducted by fellow student-athletes should make it even that much more meaningful for all of the winners. The conference commends the spring 3-D winners and thanks them for their commitment to upholding the principles of NCAA Division-III."