Notre Dame Day

RSVP by February 1st!

February 6, 2018
2:00 p.m. in Doyle Formal


Notre Dame Day History

The first record of Notre Dame Day is in the handwriting of Mary Meletia Foley, SSND, and is dated March 25, 1901. It tells of a celebration highlighting the double dedication inherent in our name, which honors Notre Dame, Our Lady, and Maryland, our state. Happily, the two converge on one date: March 25, the Feast of the Annunciation of the Angel to Mary, and Maryland Day, the day colonists came to St. Mary’s. 

Thereafter, the day was observed intermittently, but a general pattern remained. In 1953, it became a structured experience in liberal arts education. Faculty and students participated in across-the-curriculum classes that placed Mary in the historical and theological context of her time and timelessness. 

In 1968, the name changed from Annunciation Day to Notre Dame Day, and the focus of the classes broadened to include any choice of subject. This ended in 1971.

In 1989, the University revived the old custom. Today, Notre Dame Day is a time to celebrate our common purpose, to remember our rich heritage, and to recognize the achievements of the University community.

2017 Award Recipients

Distinguished Staff Award: Mary Burch Harmon

SSND Mission and Ministry Award: Brian Berry

Service-Learning Faculty Advocate Award: Maria Mouratidis

Mary Anne O'Donnell Team Academic Achievement Award: 2015-16 Swim Team with a cumulative team GPA of 3.408

Fall 2016 Dean's List

Summara Abaid
Erin Alford
Ray Alsalka
Abigail Anderson
Cleaya Antes
Sarah Arafat
Amirah Arafat
Bryanela Ayala
Aisha Azhar
Kantria Baker
Gerriza Balmes
Cristina Barrios-Lopez
Heather Barry
Samantha Bell
Rosemond Benn
Moira Berzins
Ter'race Blake
Arrecka Bouknight
Chavonne Bowen
Margaret Boylston
Melissa Bradbury
Macie Bucher
Kiera Cancelrivera
Micah Castelo
Diana Cayetano-Salinas
Sarah Connolly
Helen Contreras
Domonikue Covington
Victoria Cox
Julia D Alessandro
Valentina Dallasta
Mary Davis
Madalyn Dewling
Adam Diallo
Brenda Diazdelvalle
Abigail Dibert
Cathryanna Dorsey
Andrea Doten
Lillian Doyle
Shannon Edwards
Kylie Eldridge
Jennifer Erisman
Khrystelle Estrella
Sierra Farrare
Aylia Fatima
Shavonne Fitzgerald
Brittney Funk
Ndella Galiba
Sharon Garnett
Tonya Gibson
Arielle Gibson
Robyn Githui
Elizabeth Grasso
Lauren Gray
Alexandra Guerrero
Samantha Guntz
Ashley Guy
Rhea Lynne Guzman
Renee Hajnik
Ke'lani Hall
Emily Hallameyer
Meagan Hastings
Sarah Hawkins
Molly Helie
Kristina Hogston
Naudiyajana Hopkins
Julie Horn
Ashley Huerta Osores
Kelsey Hundt
Natalie Jarian
Briana Johnson
Roselyn Jones
Esther Jones
Christa Jordan
Jean Jun
Jaimee Kaiser
Karen Kehring
Trista Keller
Krystina Ketter
Kristin Kneller
Christine Kruse
Samantha Larrimore
Casey Laursen
Maura Leonard
Rainbow Lewis
Marie Lilly
Li-Yen Lin
Catherine Lopez
Danae Mars
Yenifer Matamoros
Nora McAteer
Raeden McCullough
Kaitlin McInerney
Karla Medrano
Amy Melendez
Lesly Mendoza
Alicia Merson
Alexandra Mezza
Kelsey Mitchell
Megan Morales
Alexis Morgan
Samantha Morquecho
Keira Mull
Maria Del Pilar Munoz
Anna Muscolino
Carrie Naylor
Chinwendu Nwokeabia
Victoria Oji
Katelynn Olson
Uloaku Onwumelu
Emmanuella Oyogoa
Ariel Palmisano
Brenda Paradis
Loren Pardoe
Grace Park
Ashley Pasker
Prutha Patel
Shannon Patrick
April Payes-Nascimento
Margaret Pedersen
Amy Peterman
Sarah Post
Maria-Gayle Prieto
Jessica Profilio
Saba Qaiser
Danielle Quintavalle
Diana Ramirez
Lyndsay Rehak
Maria Renaud
Christa Riffle
Fathima Rimzan
Christine Anne Roa
Stephanie Roche
Jeannette Rosales Blanco
Rebecca Rothhaas
Tyiss Rothwell
Gabrielle Ryan
Sania Saeed
Katherine Salim
Adamary Sanchez-Martinez
Kaitlyn Sansbury
Christina Schell
Rose Sebastian
Courtney Shreve
Brittany Shughart
Amy Simon
Marion Smedberg
Natalie Smith
Brittany Smith
Alice Snyder
Ruth Sofi
Kaitlyn Sommer
Lorelie Soriano
Summer Stevens
Courtney Strength
Salome Svanidze
Rachael Swanson
Fareeha Syed
Lindsey Szczybor
Kelly Tandan
Sarishma Thapa
Hannah Thomas
Elizabeth Tran
Andrea Urdaneta
Sierra Vancek
Justice Walrath
Jamie Washington
Mary Claire Waterman
Lindsey Webb
Kashay Webb
Jessica Wells
Alexandra Whelan
Allyson Whitacre
Karen Williams
Tavia Williams
Nia Willis
Molly Wolanski
Megan Wood
Hannah Woodworth
Nathalie Yap
Jin Hee Yi
Catherine Znamirowski

Many thanks to our Notre Dame Day 2018 Committee members for their assistance with planning this great traditional event!

Notre Dame Day 2018 Committee

Tiffany Bailey
Melodie Barton
Catherine Cheeseboro
Emily Dow
Michelle Evans, Chair
Christian Kendzierski
S. Mary Kerber, SSND
Chinwendu Nwokeabia
Gary Thrift

Additional gratitude to members of Conference Services, Custodial Services, Facilities, and Dining Services for their assistance in Notre Dame Day 2018!