The Seurkamp Fund for Academic Excellence

The Seurkamp Fund for Academic Excellence will continue President Seurkamp’s indelible legacy at Notre Dame, through support for scholarships, academic programs and facilities.

Since her inauguration in 1997, President Seurkamp has led the University through an unprecedented era of progress and growth, including:

  • Expanding academic programs to meet the needs of nontraditional students through the College of Adult Undergraduate Studies;
  • Establishing Notre Dame as a leader in health care education, with the launch of the School of Pharmacy and expansion of nursing programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels;
  • Realigning of academic programs into the School of Arts, Sciences, and Business; School of Education; and School of Nursing;
  • Founding the Ph.D. in education, the first doctoral program to be offered at the University;
  • Overseeing $120 million in much-needed capital projects involving the construction, expansion and renovation of residential and academic facilities; and
  • Leading Notre Dame through the historic decision to become Notre Dame of Maryland University on September 9, 2011.

The proceeds from the Blue and White Ball in March 2012 will be used to establish the first endowed scholarship fund of the University era at Notre Dame. In addition, as part of the University’s master plan, a campus facility will be named in honor of President Seurkamp as a permanent tribute to her leadership and the educational innovation and academic excellence she inspired during her presidency.

Blue and White Ball

The Blue and White Ball was held in March 2012 in honor of Dr. Mary Pat Seurkamp and her 15 years of service to Notre Dame. The Ball raised an astounding $1 million in support of the new Seurkamp Fund for Academic Excellence. Denise Koch, WJZ-TV news anchor, emceed the March 31 gala along with Board of Trustees chair Patricia J. Mitchell. Nearly 500 leaders from the Maryland higher education, business and philanthropic communities came together in tribute to President Seurkamp’s 15-year legacy of leadership. Cardinal Edwin O’Brien joined the celebration to extend appreciation to President Seurkamp from the Archdiocese of Baltimore.

Charles and Catherine Counselman '41 presented a $300,000 gift to the Seurkamp Fund, adding to generous contributions of $100,000 from leadership sponsor Edward, Judith, Steven and Diana Civera; and $100,000 from sponsor Willard Hackerman and The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company. Sponsorships of the Seurkamp Fund at the $25,000 level were received from Veronica Walker Hackett ’67 and the John L. Stasiak Private Foundation. A total of 23 sponsors contributed to the fund, along with 250 individual donors.

Board Chair Patricia J. Mitchell and trustees Helen Passano and Barbara Wolf, alumnae of Notre Dame’s Class of 1969, made a surprise announcement at the event that their combined commitments will bring total support to the Seurkamp Fund to $1 million.

Sponsors & Donors

Presenting Presidential Sponsors

With gratitude for their extraordinary gifts of $100,000

  • The Civera Family
  • Whiting-Turner Contracting Company

University Summa Cum Laude Donors

With gratitude for their generous gifts of $25,000

  • Veronica Walker Hackett ’67
  • The John L. Stasiak Private Foundation

University Magna Cum Laude Sponsors and Donors

With gratitude for their generous gifts of $10,000

  • The Peters Family: Mary Lou Peters ’60 and Joe Peters and Suzi Coy ’60
  • The Dorothy L. and Henry A. Rosenberg, Jr. Foundation
  • The Archdiocese of Baltimore
  • Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Mary C. Mangione
  • Margaret Bagli Otenasek C’85
  • SunTrust Bank
  • Waverly Management, LLC

University Honors Sponsors and Donors

With gratitude for their generous gifts of $5,000

  • Patricia K. Batza and Michael J. Batza, Jr.
  • Leonor and Marc Blum
  • Mary Catherine Bunting
  • Constellation Energy
  • Francis and Betty Contino WEC’89
  • CCS Fundraising
  • Celia Read Gilmore ’54 and Bill Gilmore*
  • Charles E. Herget, Jr.
  • Susan G. Larkin ’65 and James T. Larkin
  • LifeBridge Health
  • Loyola/Notre Dame Library
  • Patricia J. Mitchell ’69
  • Mount Saint Mary’s University
  • M&T Bank*
  • T. Rowe Price
  • S/L/A/M Collaborative, Inc.
  • Wright, Constable & Skeen, LLP
  • Dr. Ellen H. Yankellow – Correct Rx Pharmacy Services

The Seurkamp Fund for Academic Excellence

With gratitude to donors making generous gifts to $4,999

  • Sue Nevin Abromaitis ’60 and Michael J. Abromaitis
  • Anonymous
  • Carole Artigiani ’62 and Robert Scott
  • Jeffrey and Carol Baker
  • Barnes & Noble College Booksellers, LLC
  • Mary Claire Appleby Bavis ’47
  • Polly Behrens WEC’98 and Bruce Behrens
  • Carole M. Beyer, Ed.D. ’63
  • Patricia A. Bosse ’81 and Frank Gunther
  • Patricia M.C. Brown and Joseph Gill
  • Deborah C. Calhoun
  • Rosalie Jones Connor ’51
  • Loretta O’Keeffe Curley C’91 and John F. Curley, Jr.
  • Joyce and Joseph Di Rienzi
  • Edith McParland Donohue ’60
  • Noreen Dowling-Moini ’53
  • Marilyn Falvey ’55 and Paul Falvey
  • Grace Finn ’52 and Peter Finn
  • Debra M. Franklin ’76
  • Claire Flavin Funkhouser ’71
  • Bob and Debi Gerbus
  • Patrica Wohrna Gibbons ’52 and Edwin C. Gibbons, Jr.
  • Stephany Smith Lynch Harper C’89
  • Rosemary Garrett Hartley ’48 and James P. Hartley
  • Richard A. Hartman
  • Eleanor Nolan Holcomb ’50
  • Margaret Delaney Holland ’47 and Captain John P. Holland
  • Karen Stakem Hornig ’80
  • Jeanne Morris Jones ’50 and Harvey C. Jones
  • Mary Ellen and Leon Kaplan
  • Kathleen Schimunek Karpers ’61 and Bernard S. Karpers, Jr.
  • Julia Kennedy Kaster ’74
  • KCI Technologies, Inc.
  • Irene Keeley ’65 and John P. Keeley III
  • Rev. Robert T. Kennedy
  • Nancy Kiehne
  • Marion I. Knott
  • The Marion I. and Henry J. Knott Scholarship Fund, Inc.
  • Carole Peppin Kramer ’58
  • Sally A. Lawrence ’71
  • Mildred Lindbloom
  • Eunice M. Lynch ’62
  • Claire MacDonald
  • Nancy Byrnes Martel ’58 and Tom Martel
  • Barbara Martin ’79 and Madeline Martin Seaver ’11
  • Sean and Tracy McManus
  • Vivian Moresco Merz ’59 and Arthur Merz
  • Anne French Michaels ’59
  • Roxanne Gladden Miller ’99
  • Barton Mitchell
  • Susan M. Mitchell ’80 and Daniel Lashinsky
  • Julia Bailey Monastero ’67 and Robert Monastero
  • John and Susan Nehra
  • Bishop William C. Newman
  • Joan Dobbins Nolan ’48
  • Mary J. Oates, CSJ
  • Mary Anne O’Donnell
  • Ruth Joyner O’Neill ’60
  • Mary Louise Preis and Frederick Preis
  • Ronald Proud
  • RCM&D, Inc.
  • Heidi Fletcher
  • Mary Scally Rose ’62 and C. Bowie Rose
  • Marianna Russell C’94 and John Russell
  • Robert and Melanie Sabelhaus
  • SAGE Dining Services
  • Debra Salmon and Eric Huppert
  • Donna M. Salmon
  • Suzanne Shipley and Randall J. Wadsworth
  • Lois and Howard Shofer
  • Stephen and Sarah Spengler
  • Tom Spengler*
  • Patricia Spitzig and Aaron Edmondson
  • Jeanette Spratley WEC’00
  • Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP
  • Francia Faust Stevens W’82, M’91 and John A. Stevens
  • Jeanne H. Stevenson
  • Barbara Tipton ’66
  • Ruth Toro ’60 and Rodrigo Toro
  • Diana M. Trout C’97 and Kenneth H. Trout
  • Josephine Trueschler
  • Chuck and Betty Visconage
  • Alice Knott Voelkel ’54*
  • David Wilson
  • Paul and Karen Winicki
  • Steve and Theresa Wiseman
  • David and Carol Wormuth
  • Rosemary E. Zuna ’68

*added after program went to print

Photos & Videos

In the following video, President Mary Pat Seurkamp addresses the guests at the Blue and White Ball.

This video was part of the Blue and White Ball program honoring Mary Pat and her service to Notre Dame.

View Photo Album