April 14, 2016

NDMU President Appointed by Governor Hogan to the Maryland Commission for Women

Notre Dame of Maryland University (NDMU) President, Dr. Marylou Yam, has been appointed by Maryland Governor Larry Hogan to the Maryland Commission for Women (MCW). Dr. Yam, who will be representing Baltimore City on the Commission, was unanimously approved for the position by the Maryland State Senate.

The MCW advocates on behalf of women and girls to expand their social, political, and economic opportunities, and envisions full social, political, and economic equality for all Maryland women. The Commission provides informed advice to the executive and legislative branches of government on issues of concern to the women of the state, promotes solutions that address the needs of Maryland women, and maintains a directory of community health and legal resources for women. 

Dr. Yam’s background and experience are particularly applicable to her new role on the Commission. She began her career as a registered nurse and a nursing educator, and is a nationally recognized researcher on domestic violence. Her commitment to some of the most marginalized and vulnerable members of our society is solidly aligned with the goals and mission of the Commission.

“I am honored to have been nominated and confirmed to the Maryland Commission for Women by Governor Hogan and the State Senate,” states Dr. Marylou Yam. “I look forward to serving alongside my fellow commissioners to continue to push the agenda for the advancement of women in Baltimore and across Maryland.”

As the 14th president, Dr. Yam joined the Notre Dame community in 2014 from Saint Peter’s University in Jersey City, N.J., where she most recently served as Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. She was the first woman in the history of Saint Peter’s to serve as Dean of its College of Arts and Sciences and School of Business Administration.

Dr. Yam earned her B.S. in Nursing from Mercy College, and M.A. and Ed.M. degrees in Nursing Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. She received a Ph.D. in Nursing Science from Adelphi University, and was awarded a post-doctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University.