Year after year, the dedication and drive of our faculty define what makes Notre Dame such a respected center for learning.

The philosophy of Notre Dame of Maryland University's faculty may best be described by one of our own: Maura Eichner, SSND, a celebrated poet and professor of English for more than 50 years.

Continually think of those
who were truly great 
who in their lives fought 
for life, who wore 
at their hearts, the fire's 
center. Feel the meanings 
the words hide.

Excerpt from "What My Teachers Taught Me, I Try to Teach My Students," by Sister Maura

Simply put, our faculty at Notre Dame are exceptional—as award-winning educators, innovators, professionals in their fields, and as people.

Mullan Distinguished Teacher Award

Every year since 1976, the University has selected one faculty colleague for the Thomas and Clementine Mullan Distinguished Teaching Award. The purpose of the award is to provide recognition and encouragement of outstanding teaching by presenting a monetary award to a member of the faculty selected by the administration, faculty, and students at Notre Dame of Maryland University. By tradition, the announcement of the winner is kept a surprise—even for the recipient.

Nominate a Teacher

2024 Award Recipient

Christa de Kleine, Ph.D.

Past Mullan Distinguished Teacher Award Recipients
Year Winner
2023 James Culhane, Ph.D.
2022 Ashley Moody, Pharm.D.
2021 Kate Bossert, Ph.D.
2020 Alexandra Chaillou, Ph.D.
2019 Jocelyn McKeon, Ph.D. 
2018 Stephanie Savick, Ph.D.
2017 Angela R. Sherman, Ph.D.
2016 Evelyn Spratt, Ph.D.
2015 William Davis, Ph.D.
2014 Deborah Calhoun, Ph.D.