Transfer to Notre Dame
Due to inclement weather, Notre Dame of Maryland University will open at 9:30 AM today - Tuesday January 27, 2015. Essential personnel to report as scheduled.
Watch as the scaffolding that has surrounded the Merrick Tower for the past few months is slowly removed to reveal a restored treasure.
On Wednesday, January 28, NDMU will hold the Notre Dame-a-thon—a day of giving back that celebrates Notre Dame’s inspiring, enduring mission. Join us by “answering the call” and making a difference with your Notre Dame gift!
Notre Dame was founded by the School Sisters of Notre Dame 120 years ago. Based on the progressive vision that education can transform the world, we prepare compassionate leaders who change lives.
The Notre Dame of Maryland University community is proud to announce the inauguration of Dr. Marylou Yam as our 14th President, scheduled for April 17, 2015. Inauguration festivities will run from April 12 to 19. Visit ndm.edu/inauguration for more details.
5:00pm - 8:30pm
On the Saturday evening before the first building opened on Notre Dame of Maryland’s Charles Street campus in 1873, the sisters lit every light in the five-story structure and tower, turning on all gas jets in order to test the fixtures. A published history of the College notes: “the illumination made a spectacle which drew admiring neighbors from far and near.”
President and Mrs. Ulysses S. Grant attended graduation ceremonies in Commencement Hall, which was located on the fourth floor of Gibbons Hall. Their niece, Bessie Sharp was a student at the Collegiate Institute. President Grant conferred the awards.
The SSNDs established College of Notre Dame of Maryland in 1895 as the first Catholic college for women in the United States to award the four-year baccalaureate degree. A press clipping from the time predicted the new college would “meet the ever increasing demand to give women the opportunity for intellectual training as thorough and comprehensive as is afforded to men in the best colleges of the country.”
The Class of 1899 included Helen Burr, Catherine Coll, Ellen Coll, Mary Theresa Curran, Dorothea Kilkoff and Louise Power. Charles Joseph Bonaparte, great-nephew of Emperor Napoleon I, spoke at the first commencement ceremony. He remarked: "Today and here for the first time in America, a Catholic college for the education of young ladies bestows the bachelor's degree."
Originally called "College Hall," Mary Meletia Hall was built in 1910 to accommodate Notre Dame's growing enrollment.
Sing-Song began as an informal competition among the four undergraduate classes as to which could produce the best lyrics for popular tunes and sing them the most entertainingly. It remained a beloved tradition for the next 60 years!
The Honor Code stands as an enduring pact between students and faculty, emphasizes truth and veracity in academic work, and challenges students to incorporate these ideals in all aspects of their lives.
O’Connor was not only the most important female Catholic writer of the 20th century, but was also a treasured correspondent of poet and College of Notre Dame English professor Maura Eichner, SSND ’41, through late 1963 and early 1964. O’Connor’s letters to Sister Maura offer insight on her abiding Catholic faith, as reflected in her body of work.
When many single sex colleges and universities in the country moved to co-education, Notre Dame organized Quest ’70, a landmark event that brought students, alumnae, faculty and trustees together in dialogue about single sex education and to determine the school’s future course. After thoughtful and often lively debate, participants reached an overwhelming consensus: Notre Dame would remain first and foremost a women’s college, as envisioned by the SSNDs nearly three-quarters of a century earlier.
The Loyola/Notre Dame library is the first in the country to be jointly owned by two independent colleges.
Addressing the students, Mother Theresa stressed the gifts that women can bring to service to the poor. She was one of many internationally known women who helped Notre Dame celebrate the International Women's Year with an historic lecture series.
Notre Dame begins master’s in management program, its first graduate-level offering.
As Notre Dame celebrated its centennial, His Holiness Pope John Paul II visited the nearby Cathedral of Mary Our Queen. He observed: "Catholic schools, historically and as a matter of duty, have made a substantial contribution to society by giving special attention to economically disadvantaged segments of society. I hope that you will continue to look for ways of ensuring the continuation of this essential service, despite the financial burdens it entails. Catholic education serves the future of all Americans, by teaching and communicating the very virtues on which American democracy rests."
Mary Pat Seurkamp, Ph.D. becomes Notre Dame's eleventh president and the first layperson permanently appointed to the role. Dr. Seurkamp's inauguration festivities drew more than 1,000 students, alumnae and friends to the campus.
The Sister Kathleen Feeley International Center opens. Named for Notre Dame’s ninth president, the Center houses not only the classical and modern languages department, but also the office of international programs, study abroad, and the English Language Institute. It provides an atmosphere of international cooperation and exchange for all members of the Notre Dame community.
Notre Dame opens its first professional school, the School of Pharmacy, offering the Pharm.D. Nearly 500 students apply for the 70 seats in the inaugural class. It is the first pharmacy school located on the campus of a women’s college in the United States and the second in Maryland (after University of Maryland).
On September 9, 2011, the 116th anniversary of the first day of classes at the College, Notre Dame of Maryland University is dedicated.
Our School of Pharmacy, whose curriculum and initiatives focus on health care disparities, has received full accreditation status from the ACPE, the official accrediting body of pharmacy programs. The program graduated its first class in May 2013.