Partners in Mission is an event that celebrates service anniversaries and connects us with the vision of our founders, the School Sisters of Notre Dame, the University’s mission, and the women and men who make our mission a reality – our faculty and staff. This year's event will be held on May 25, 2023.

This event is titled Partners in Mission for a reason – for a mission is merely a collection of words if it lacks believers and partners to carry it forward. We are fortunate to have believers and partners on this campus, and at this event, we honor them for their work on behalf of our mission.

Honoring Blessed Theresa Gerhardinger

Along with recognizing service anniversaries, Partners in Mission day integrates the feast day honoring the foundress of the School Sisters of Notre Dame, Blessed Theresa Gerhardinger. The spirit of Blessed Theresa and the educational vision of the School Sisters of Notre Dame permeate the history and tradition of the University. Our campus community is inspired by the conviction that the world can be changed through the transformation of persons. So as we gather together for this event, we honor Blessed Theresa and celebrate the gifts and accomplishments of our Partners in Mission – women and men, lay and religious, who live out the SSND values and the NDMU mission, who are observing significant service anniversaries.

Inspired by the School Sisters, we “trust and dare,” pursue unity, seek truth and educate to transform the world.

We ask our campus community to look inward and consider these questions:

  • What does it mean to be a partner in mission?
  • What does it mean to live our mission each day, every day on this campus?

And now we ask you, dear reader, what are your answers to those questions?

2023 Celebrants

35 Years

Sharon Slear, SSND, Ph.D., Special Projects Assistant to the President

Charlie Yoe, Professor, Business & Economics Department

30 Years

Ademar Bechtold, Professor, Business & Economics Department

25 Years

Christa de Kleine, Professor, School of Education

Caroline Mahle, Academic Advisor, School of Education

20 Years

Susanna Price, Registrar, Registrar’s Office

Doug Wannall, Enterprise Infrastructure Manager, Office of Information Technology

15 Years

Jane Balkam, Professor, School of Nursing

Kelly Bull, Professor, School of Education

James Culhane, Assistant Dean for Student Services & Professor, School of Pharmacy

Nicole Culhane, Assistant Dean for Experiential Education & Professor, School of Pharmacy

Donna Jenkins, Administrative Assistant to Provost & Vice President, Academic Affairs

Mary Packard, Professor, School of Nursing

Larry Shattuck, Director of Admissions, School of Pharmacy

Evelyn Spratt, Director of the Morrissy Honors Program, Associate ProfessorSchool of Education

10 Years

Zane Hunter, Simulation and Technology Specialist, School of Nursing

Jennifer Kerr, Associate Professor, Biology Department

Joel Stob, Applications Manager, Office of Information Technology

Marleen Thornton, Associate Professor, School of Nursing

Paul Vitale, Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy

5 Years

Katherine Beauchat, Associate Professor, School of Education

Molly Dunn, Assistant Professor, School of Education

Catherine Goucher, Assistant Professor & Program Director, Art Therapy

Zulma Jimenez, Assistant Professor, Chemistry Department

Alan Jones, Director, Career Center

Angelo Letizia, Assistant Professor, School of Education

Jenna Maher, Academic Support Specialist, School of Pharmacy

Marrisia Moore, Lab Manager, Biology Department

Marisa Morris, Director, Advancement Services

Rhett Phillips, CRM & Integration Services Specialist, Office of Information Technology

Russell Roche, Supervisor, Groundskeeping Department

Patrice Slater, Public Safety Dispatcher, Office of Public Safety

Gene Taylor, Director of Risk Management & Public Safety, Office of Public Safety