Award-Winning Teachers

​Notre Dame is one of the state’s largest and most significant private providers of teacher education. Year after year, our graduates receive top honors as outstanding teachers, principals and administrators.

Teachers of the Year

The Maryland and National Teacher of the Year Programs celebrate exemplary elementary, middle, and high school teachers for educational excellence and classroom leadership. The Teachers of the Year are nominated by their peers and selected by a panel of teachers, administrators, parents, and representatives from higher education. 

In the past seven years, 18 Notre Dame graduates have been named Teacher of the Year, including six in Harford County alone! Plus, we're proud to count seven Maryland Teacher of the Year semifinalists and the 2012 Maryland Teacher of the Year among our graduates.

Teachers of the Year
Laura Potter headshot

Laura Potter '01, a mathematics teacher at C. Milton Wright High School in Bel Air, has been named the 2015-2016 Harford County Teacher of the Year.

Read a profile of Laura in the Baltimore Sun

Anne Cross headshot

Anne Cross '83, a fifth-grade teacher at Gunpowder Elementary School in Perry Hall, has been named the 2014-2015 Baltimore County Teacher of the Year.

Read the Baltimore Sun article of Anne's honor

Laura Collins headshot

Laura Collins M'08, a science teacher at Plum Point Middle School, has been named the 2014 Calvert County Teacher of the Year.

Read a profile of Laura

Kathleen Reineke headshot

Kathleen Reineke, an instructional resource teacher at Oakville Elementary School who is enrolled in NDMU's Ph.D. program in Instructional Leadership for Changing Populations, has been named the 2014-2015 St. Mary's County Teacher of the Year.

Read about the announcement

Cristina Ulrich headshot

Cristina Ulrich '06, a kindergarten teacher at Brookhaven Elementary School, has been named the 2013-2014 Montgomery County Teacher of the Year.

Read the story

Joshua Parker headshot

Joshua Parker M’10, an English/Language Arts teacher at Windsor Middle School, is Maryland’s 2012 Teacher of the Year.

Bradley Nornhold headshot

Bradley Nornhold M'12, a 7th and 8th grade math teacher at KIPP Ujima Village Academy, is Baltimore City's 2012 Teacher of the Year.

Christina O'Neill headshot Christina O'Neill ’93 is Harford County's 2012-13 Teacher of the Year.
Christian Slattery headshot Christian Slattery M'12, a music teacher at Halls Cross Roads Elementary School and 2008 Milken award winner, was honored as Harford County’s 2011 Teacher of the Year and named a finalist in the statewide competition.
Laura Rimkus headshot Laura Rimkus is Harford County's 2010 Non-Public Teacher of the Year.
Erin Sullivan headshot Glen Burnie High School teacher Erin Sullivan M’04 is Anne Arundel County’s 2010 Teacher of the Year.
Lisa Mullen headshot Harford County 2010 Teacher of the Year, Lisa C. Mullen M’06, is a Language Arts teacher at North Harford Middle School. Lisa earned her master’s degree in Leadership in Teaching in 1996. Her thesis was accepted with honors, and she received Notre Dame’s Academic Achievement Award for Leadership in Teaching.
Joe Evans headshot Joe Evans, Kent County’s 2010 Teacher of the year, is a biology teacher at Kent County High School and attended Notre Dame’s Weekend College to earn his teaching certificate.
Sharon Adedeji headshot Sharon Adedeji M’02, English Department Chair at Century High School, was named Carroll County's 2010 Teacher of the Year. 
Melissa McFayden headshot Melissa McFayden M’01, a pre-kindergarten teacher at Ridgely Elementary School, was named Caroline County’s 2008 Teacher of the Year.
John Billingslea headshot John Billingslea M’02, an AP psychology teacher at Franklin High School in Reisterstown, was named Baltimore County’s 2008 Teacher of the Year.
Bonnie Beavan headshot Bonnie Beavan M’07, a math teacher at Spring Ridge Middle School in Lexington Park, was named St. Mary’s County’s 2008 Teacher of the Year.
Ronald Wooden headshot Ronald Wooden M’07, a fifth grade teacher at George D. Lisby Elementary School in Aberdeen, was named Harford County’s 2008 Teacher of the Year.
Outstanding Leadership
Mark Murphy M’02 has been nominated asDelaware’s State Superintendent of Schools.
Theresa Alban ’81, superintendent of Frederick County Public Schools, was honored by the University of Maryland College of Education as this year’s Outstanding New Professional.
Kathy Wood headshot Kathy Wood ’72, principal of Queen of Angels Catholic School in Roswell, Georgia, was selected by the National Association of Elementary School Principals as 2011 National Distinguished Principal. Ms. Wood is one of only five private school principals in the country to receive this honor.
Accomplished Educators
Kevin Garner M’08, a science teacher at Severn River Middle School in Anne Arundel County, was honored with a 2010 Toyota TAPESTRY Grant.
Amy Gibson ’71 of Huntingtown High School received a 2012 John F. Kennedy Center/Stephen Sondheim Inspirational Teacher Award.
Jennifer Raley M’02, first-grade teacher at St. Michael’s School in Ridge, Maryland, was honored with the Golden Apple Award from the Archdiocese of Washington, which recognizes excellence among Catholic school teachers.